The leadership and success story of American Institute of Architects

American Institute of Architects refers to an American organization whose members are professional architects. Its acronym is AIA. The headquarters of the institute is situated in Washington, D.C. It engages in a range of roles such as the provision of education, facilitating government advocacy, the redevelopment of the community and also enhances public outreach to aid the career at the same time improving its public image. Additionally, the firm carries out their services with their colleagues in line with construction and design. The role, in this case, is concerning the advancement of the industry.

The establishment of AIA took place in the year 1857 at the City of New York. The duty was executed under the combined efforts and strategies of thirteen architects. The objective of establishing it was to enhance the promotion of the scientific as well as the practical advancement of its members. It would additionally raise the reputation of the career. Worth acknowledging is the fact that Richard Upjohn served as the organization’s first president.

Notably, any individual could claim that they were professional architects before the establishment took place. It is because there existed no architectural schools or even related licensing laws across the United States.

The success of any company is behind effective leadership by those at the executive positions. Such positions include that of the Chief Executive Officers. Robert Ivy is extensively known for his role as the CEO at AIA. Thomas V. Vonier serves at the presidential position in the same organization.

Before getting to serve at the AIA, Robert Ivy turned out to the post of the Editor in Chief at Architectural Record. It is as a result of this that he facilitated the growth of the journal into a broadly read one globally.

Robert also served in the position of McGraw-Hill Construction Media’s Vice President as well as the Editorial Director. It is remarkable that he participated in the committee that facilitated the selection of architect Frank Gehry in the designation of the National Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial.

Between 1981 and 1996, he served as the Dean/Dale Dean & Ivy. He also served as a critic for a variety of countrywide publications.

It is under his headship concerning being an editor that Architectural Record won several honors in the publishing industry such as premier magazine journalism award. In the year 2009, he earned the Crain Award which is the leading individual acknowledgment in line with the American Business Media.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *